BUK Confers ‘Emeritus’ on Five Professors

Bayero University, Kano, BUK awarded 5 professors the tittle of ’emeritus’  for their dedication in seeing the university to its present position.

Bayero University Kano,  BUK Emeritus Professors

The council and Senate of Bayero University, Kano, have conferred the tittle of ’emeritus’ on five professors of the university for meritorious services they rendered to the university and humanity.

Out of the five retired professors, three were former vice chancellors, while the two others have continued to provide valuable services to the university.

The conferment of emeritus came at the event of the 31st convocation ceremony of the university. The recipients were former vice chancellors of Bayero university, Professor Dandatti Abdulkadir of Hausa Language, Professor Munzali Jibril of English Language and literature, Professor Sani Zaharaddeen of Islamic studies. The two others are Professor E.O. Olofin of geography and Professor Ibrahim H. Umar of nuclear physics.

Conferring the title on the five professors, the vice chancellor of the university, Professor Rasheed Abubakar described the recipients as worthy and have dedicated their youthful years in seeing the university to its present position.

Prof Abubakar said their marks will continue to be indelible and would fetch them more recognitions and followers to their footsteps.

In his address, the pro chancellor of the university, Alhaji Yayale Ahmed described this year’s convocation as unique as there was recommendation of management and senate that the ceremonies be in line with best global practices where the graduands are the center of attention.

The pro chancellor said the uniqueness of the ceremony was that it took effect from Tuesday to Thursday, recognising five pioneer professors as emeriti and that the management and senate made arrangements for all graduands to collect their certificates immediately after the ceremonies.

He noted that the university council and senate resolved that no honorary degrees should be awarded at this year’s convocation. (Leadership)