ECOWAS Fellowship Programme Form for Masters & PhD - 2015/16

Economic Commission for West African States, ECOWAS fellowship programme application form for Masters and PhD students in UNILAG, UI and Universite Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal.

ECOWAS Fellowship Programme - Scholarship

The Association of African Universities which seeks to promote capacity building within the 15-member countries of the Economic Commission for West African States is announcing the 2015 maiden edition of the ECOWAS Fellowship Programme for Masters and PhD.

ECOWAS Fellowship Programme Eligibility

The Programme is open to qualified nationals (including graduate students, researchers, lecturers and staff) of ECOWAS member states who will be admitted for Masters or PhD degree programme at any one of the following three universities:

(a)           University of Lagos, Nigeria

(b)          University of Ibadan, Nigeria

(c)           Universite Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal 

A good first degree (at least second class upper division or its equivalent) is required for Masters degree programme. An Mphil degree or its equivalent is required for PhD programme. 

Priority will be given to Anglophone nationals who gain admission into Francophone institutions, as well as to Francophone nationals who gain admission into Anglophone institutions. Female candidates are particularly encouraged to apply.

ECOWAS Fellowship Programme – Study Disciplines

Applications are invited from all disciplines linked to the fields of strategic importance to the West African region such as:

  1. Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
  2. Earth and Life Sciences;
  3. Health including material and child health, HIV/AIDS, etc.;
  4. Agriculture, Food Security and related disciplines
  5. History of Africa
  6. Information technology; and
  7. Gender issues.

ECOWAS Fellowship Programme –  Full Scholarship

The ECOWAS Fellowship Programme is a full scholarship intended to cater for each fellow’s costs of living, tuition fees, visas, travel, insurance and thesis research.

In this respect, ECOWAS will pay the tuition fees directly to the institutions and provide a monthly stipend of US$600 per Masters student and US$800 per PhD student to cover all other expenses for the duration of the degree programme.   

ECOWAS Fellowship Programme –  Application Procedure

: Qualified candidates will be admitted to one of the three institutions mentioned above. Please ensure that the institution that you have selected offers the course you have chosen. All the three universities provide information about their degree programmes on their websites.

Each application must include the following:

  1. A photocopy of the degree and other certificates.
  2. Completed EFP Form.
  3. Most recent curriculum vitae.

MSG Team.

Ace Your Exams: Join Our Online Classes For JAMB, WAEC, NECO & NABTEB Candidates