Education Ministry Denies Relocation of Unity College in Adamawa

Education Ministry Denies Relocation of Unity College in Adamawa:

The Federal Ministry of Education on Friday said it had not relocated any federal unity college in Adamawa.

This is contained in a statement signed by Mr Olu Lipede, the Director of Press and Public Relations in the ministry in Abuja.

“The attention of the honourable Minister has been drawn to rumours going round that government has relocated certain Federal Unity Colleges, especially those in Adamawa State.

“The minister wishes to assure the public and the affected communities that no Federal Unity School has been relocated,” it said.

It stated that rather, government only directed temporary closure of institutions located in areas considered to be high security risk, in the wake of terrorist activities.

“The most recent of which is the cold-blooded murder of innocent children in the college in Buni Yadi.

“While government directed that pupils in the high risk areas should be temporarily absorbed in colleges in relatively secure communities, the schools that were closed are still recognised as schools still existing in their various locations,” it added.

According to the statement, normal academic and social activities will resume in the affected schools as soon as security situation in those areas improve.

“For the avoidance of doubt, Federal Science and Technical College, Michika; Federal Government College, Ganye and Federal Government Girls’ College, Yola, all in Adamawa State, have not been relocated.”

“Stakeholders in these areas and all such areas where colleges were temporarily closed should please note this and enlighten their communities,” it said.

NAN recalls that the Supervising Minister of Education, Chief Nyesom Wike, had on March 5, in a statement signed by Mr Simeon Nwakaudu, his Special Assistant, Media, announced the shutting down of five federal unity colleges “located within the high security risk areas of the North-East geo-political zone”.

According to the statement, the schools include Federal Government Girls College, Munguno; Federal Government College, Potiskum; Federal Government College, Buni Yadi; Federal Science and Technical College Lassa and Federal Science and Technical College, Michika. (NAN)

Ace Your Exams: Join Our Online Classes For JAMB, WAEC, NECO & NABTEB Candidates

Olusegun Fapohunda
Meet The Author
This guide is authored by Olusegun Fapohunda, the founder and editor of MySchoolGist. Boasting over a decade of expertise in the education sector, Olusegun provides up-to-date information on educational topics, career opportunities, and breaking news stories.
You can connect with him on Twitter.