Nigerian Varsities Now 164 as NUC Approves Zamfara State University

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has approved the establishment of Zamfara State University, Talata-Mafara in Zamfara State.

NUC Approves Establishment of Zamfara State University

The approval brings the number of state universities to 47 and the number of universities in the country to 162.

The Executive Secretary of NUC, Abubakar Rasheed, announced the approval during a meeting in Abuja with the governor of the state, Abdulaziz Yari, and his technical committee.

Mr. Rasheed said JAMB, TETFUND and NYSC had been informed of the creation of the university.

He said the university will kick off for the 2018/2019 academic session soon.

Olusegun Fapohunda
Meet The Author
This post is authored by Olusegun Fapohunda, the founder and editor of MySchoolGist. Boasting over a decade of expertise in the education sector, Olusegun provides up-to-date information on educational topics, career opportunities, and breaking news stories.
You can connect with him on X/Twitter.