Stakeholders Laud AAUA's e-Voting System, Say Election Peaceful, Credible

Staff and students of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, Ondo State, Nigeria, have commended the Electronic Voting System, EVS, which was newly adopted for the University’s Student Union Election which was held on Friday last week.

AAUA SUE e-Voting System

The Chairman of the Student Union Election Committee, SUEC, Dr. Benson Igboin, candidates’ agents and some electorate spoke with the Information Unit of the University after the election.

Dr. Igboin said the AAUA’s mantra, ‘…building a 21st Century University, properly called!’, and its resolve to adopt global best practices have made it apposite for the Institution to adopt e- voting system.

He said, “We made students to understand that a 21st century university is driven by technology, innovation and creativity and that e-voting system is part of the 21st century package.”

Dr. Igboin, who noted that the exercise was smooth, credible and peaceful, said the use of EVS “saved us a lot of time, energy, and we didn’t record any casualty. There was no crowd and the whole exercise didn’t affect other activities on campus. It is also going to be more cost effective because the software is already ours. So, during subsequent elections, the budget will definitively come down.”

The SUEC Chairman explained that apart from accommodating the students to vote at the CBT Centre of the University, the students also cast the vote through their phones on and outside the campus.

While urging those who lost at the poll to cooperate with the winners, Dr. Igboin charged the latter not to renege on their promises. He urged them to pursue their agenda in tandem with the requirements of 21st Century student unionism.

Oreoluwa Akintomide was the agent of one of the presidential candidates, Benjamin Amos. He said, “I am really satisfied with e-voting. Everything went on smoothly. It’s really encouraging and I want to give Kudos to the VC for the initiative.”

David Adesubokan, the agent of the president-elect, Odunyemi Adegbola, said, “The voting exercise went perfectly. No cause for alarm or acrimony. The e-voting is perfect and everybody is happy about it. No delay. No corruption. I thank the VC for introducing the system and I also appreciate the team spirit of the personnel in charge.”

Damilare John, the agent of another presidential candidate, Daniel Oludehinwa, remarked, “The e-voting is very impressive. It is a transparent exercise. Everyone could see how the votes were coming in. There was no room for any manipulation.

A 200-Level student of the Department of Political Science, Kayode Egbeyale, described the EVS as a step in the right direction. He added, “The system gave us a big opportunity to exercise our franchise even from the comfort of our homes or anywhere we were once we were eligible and had internet connection. It is an attribute of a 21st century university, properly called!”

Another student, Adeola Adegoke (Microbiology Department) said, “This is very historic. For me to have cast my vote right there in my room, it’s a nice development. I learnt that AAUA is the first state university to have done this. I am so happy and I want to thank and congratulate the initiators.”

Announcing the result of the election on Friday (November 6), Dr. Igboin declared Adegbola winner, having polled 1,078 votes to defeat his opponents – Oluwatosin Ajewole (83 votes), Benjamin Amos (1, 040 votes), Segun Moses (92 votes) and Daniel Oludehinwa (363).

Folusho Ayeni defeated Tolulope Agbeyemi and Esther Duyile who polled 506 and 349 votes, respectively, to emerge Vice President.

Segun Odunayo got 1, 172 votes to become General Secretary, while his opponents – Ifedayo Bamidele and Adeola Oyebade – secured 534 and 659 votes respectively.

Segun Bello emerged Financial Secretary with 1,692 votes, while his opponent, Temidayo Okedairo, got 654 votes.

Olanrewaju Ikuejuroje defeated his opponent, Enitan Adelakun, with 150 votes to emerge the Public Relations Officer. Ikuejuroje polled 1,252 while Adelakun scored 1,102 votes.

Sherif Balogun (343 votes) and Lateef Musediq (802) were beaten by Ibrahim Oyelade who had 1, 231 votes to emerge Welfare Director.

The position of Treasurer went to Oluwaseun Olanrewaju who secured 1, 142 votes, defeating Oladipupo Falana and Saka Rasaq who got 809 and 465 votes respectively.

Olamide Bamidele and Oluwaseun Anibire polled 2, 193 and 2, 159 votes to emerge, unopposed ,Sports Director and Social Director respectively.

Gabriel Akinola polled 1, 633 votes to become Assistant General Secretary, while his opponents, Taiwo Adeleye got 447 votes and Abiodun Aregbesola had 257 votes.

Ace Your Exams: Join Our Online Classes For JAMB, WAEC, NECO & NABTEB Candidates

Olusegun Fapohunda
Meet The Author
This post is authored by Olusegun Fapohunda, the founder and editor of MySchoolGist. Boasting over a decade of expertise in the education sector, Olusegun provides up-to-date information on educational topics, career opportunities, and breaking news stories.
You can connect with him on Twitter.