UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2019

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) is calling for applications and nominations for its 2019 International Literacy Prizes.  The deadline for submission of applications or nominations for the 2019 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes is 16 June 2019.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for the 2019 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes, which this year will award outstanding programmes and individuals who promote literacy around the world within the theme of ‘Literacy and Multilingualism’.

Since 1967, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 490 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have already received recognition and support for their excellent work.

The promotion of multilingualism as an asset for both literacy and educational development in general and more particularly Sustainable Development Goal 4 (SDG4) and its target 4.6 in terms of inclusivity quality and expanding access. Multilingual education facilitates access to education while promoting equity for populations speaking minority and/or indigenous languages, especially girls and women.

Through two prestigious Prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 750 millions of people.

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes which are given to five laureates:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards), was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to programmes that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005, and is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. This Prize recognizes programmes that promote adult literacy, especially in rural areas and for out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.


  • Each of the prize winners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Eligibility.

  • Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals are kindly invited to apply;
  • All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the programme, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO.

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes Selection Criteria.

  • Relevance to the themes: The programme/project is pertinent to the areas focused by the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes and the specific theme of this year.
  • Relevance to individuals and societal needs and robustness: The programme/project is relevant to the individual and societal needs in a given context. The programme/project is robust and effective in its design, delivery, structure, management, monitoring and evaluation.
  • Quality of teaching and learning: The quality of teaching and learning involves interrelated dimensions such as the effectiveness, the efficiency, the equality, the relevance and the pertinence.
  • Impact: The ‘impact’ relates to both positive and negative changes made by a programme/project, to beneficiaries, communities and broader societies. Changes include both intended and unintended ones demonstrated by qualitative and/or quantitative evidence.
  • Innovative features: The Innovative features are concerned with new/original ideas, solutions, approaches, methods, devices and perspectives or new ways of adapting traditional ones which can adds value and make a concrete impact.
  • Sustainability: Sustainability is regarding lasting benefits and impacts of a programme/project beyond the lifecycle of the current programme/project. This may involve the concrete activities of a programme/project designed to ensure sustainability of its results and impacts, the contributions to enriching literate environments in which learners can acquire, use, sustain, and advance literacy skills and the availability of future plan.

In addition to these criteria, the project/programme should:

  • Be ongoing and proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • Have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.
  • Promote literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.

How to Apply for UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

Interested candidates who meet the criteria listed above should apply by clicking on the “Apply” button below:

Apply Here Official Link

The deadline for submitting applications for nominations: 16 June 2019 (midnight, Paris time).

The deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 23 June 2019 (midnight, Paris time).

RECOMMENDED: Check Here for More Scholarships and Opportunities.

If you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, please share it using the buttons below!

Meet The Author
Olusegun Fapohunda is the founder and editor of MySchoolGist. He loves to share education news from various sources to keep readers informed.
You can connect with him on Twitter.
Get in touch
Leave a Comment