Winners at 4th WAUG Championship - 2015

The 2015 West African University Games, (WAUG) ended last weekend at UNN Sports Complex, Nsukka with a closing Football match played between Enugu State University (ESUT) and University of Calabar (UNICAL).

The University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN), Saturday, defeated Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) with a lone goal in the opening match of the West African University Games (WAUG).

University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) emerged the overall winner at the 4th West African University Games (WAUG) Hockey and Football Championship..

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife and Enugu State University of Technology also won gold in hockey and football events respectively.

In the male football event, Team ESUT defeated University of Calabar 1-0 courtesy of the 35th minute goal by Silas Nwankwo to claim the gold medal.

Also, UNN’s lone goal victory over Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba secured them a bronze medal.

The UNN female team was decorated with gold medal without kicking the ball having been the only team that registered for the championship.

Similarly, the OAU hockey team left no one in doubt of winning the gold when they defeated University of Maiduguri team in the final match by two field goals having beaten them by four field goals in the pool B match.

The Federal University of Technology, Minna claimed the bronze medal on technical grounds at the expense of the Federal University of Technology, Owerri.

However, the UNN team beat University of Ibadan female team in the final by three field goals to claim the gold. The highlight of that event was the award of bronze medal to the University of Education, Winneba, Ghana who arrived at the venue 24 hours to the end of the championships without kicking the ball since it was only three universities that registered for the event.

Meanwhile, in the various individual awards presentation, Obot Ubom-Abasi of UNN won the highest goal scorer award with six goals as well as the most valuable player award, while the Bayero University, Kano(BUK) won the fair play trophy award. The hockey event highest goal scorer award went to Jide Falowo from Team OAU with six goals, just as his team-mate, Innocent Akpan was adjudged the most valuable player of the event.

WUAG Opening UNIZIK VC unilorin at wuag team kust at wuag wuag tournament

MSG Team.

JAMB Not Required, Proceed Directly to 200-Level! Secure Your Spot in Any Nigerian University. Affordable Fees! Call +2348033006849 Right Away!

Spread the Word: If you found this post useful, help others discover it too! Just click and share using the buttons below!

Olusegun Fapohunda

Meet The Author

This post is authored by , the founder and editor of MySchoolGist. Boasting over a decade of expertise in the education sector, Olusegun offers current insights into educational trends, career opportunities, and the latest news. Connect with him on X/Twitter for more updates.